Please have a look at our Forum Rules. Lets keep this forum an enjoyable place to visit.


Please consider registering

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
Help with recording Yamaha SV-130 electric violin
I could use help with those experienced in recording electric violin with an amplifier.
Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 (0 votes) 
August 24, 2015 - 4:41 pm
Member Since: August 24, 2015
Forum Posts: 4
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Aloha all,

For over a year I've wanted to be part of a virtual orchestra.. plus, it is great motivation for me, thank you for doing this!

My violin is a Yamaha silent electric which I play only using my headphones, I have no amplifier to hook up to. Is there a way to record by using just my Mac (latest OS) and/or iPhone6?

Huge thanks!


California, the place of my heart

August 24, 2015 - 5:05 pm
Member Since: January 11, 2012
Forum Posts: 3717
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Good question Karen.  I ended up getting a little amp for mine.  I didn't know how to amplify through mini ipad or phone... .or computer.

I hope someone has some info here for Ya!

I did find a fun app called Studio Mini for my Iphone... its kinda fun, once I figured out just barely how to handle it.. 🙂

Vibrato Desperato.... Desperately seeking vibrato

August 24, 2015 - 8:02 pm
Member Since: August 24, 2015
Forum Posts: 4
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thank you Coolpinkone, what kind of amp did you get? I no nothing about amps. LOL.. sheesh, its tougher to figure out the hookups than playing. And I'm pretty geeky!

Fort Lauderdale
August 25, 2015 - 8:30 am
Member Since: September 26, 2010
Forum Posts: 11604

Thanks to the Yamaha's built in preamp, you can probably hook an output cable directly to your computers mic input and use any Mac video recording software to record the video. I believe you need a 1/4 to 1/8" cable. QuickTime Player works fine and is built into the OS. Open the app and choose, "New Movie Recording" under the File menu.
My guess is that you would have an easier time with an amplifier though.
Here are some of the amplifiers that we offer at Fiddlershop:

"The richest person is not the one who has the most,
but the one who needs the least."

August 29, 2015 - 2:54 pm
Member Since: August 24, 2015
Forum Posts: 4
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Wow, thank you.. so very much, I'll try this, if all works out you have enhanced delight in my life, much sincere gratitude here.

(a little later)

This works so far: From the violin's "phones" input, I plugged into my Mac's "line in", started a new video recording from Quicktime Player. Although I can plug my headphones into the Mac's microphone to hear as I play, it has a slight delay.. lol.. so instead I'll listen to the "silent" .. less quality sound as I play. At least the recording sounds okay so far.

I suppose now its time to practice. 🙂

King for a Day, Peasant for many

August 30, 2015 - 3:33 am
Member Since: February 13, 2012
Forum Posts: 1773
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

If you have computer speakers, you can plug headphones into one of the speakers and listen in real time without a delay, or at least so small of a delay you won't even notice.

That's what I do, you can also play back-tracks on your computer and you will hear them in your headphones as well as the violin.


If you get hooked up on streetjelly you'll be broadcasting exactly what you hear in the headphones... of course you'll need to add a mic so we can hear you talk.

It adds up...

Next you'll be getting a mixer, which makes it all really easy to add on to. Mic inputs, instrument inputs, even feed the speaker output into it and you can hook up your headphones to it and do all of the above too.

Then it'll look like this mess of wires really soon. Ha.

IMG_20150514_000646_2_.jpgImage Enlarger

sp_PlupAttachments Attachments

"If you practice with your hands you must practice all day. Practice with your mind and you can accomplish the same amount in minutes." Nathan Milstein

Canada, Ontario
October 30, 2015 - 11:24 pm
Member Since: October 29, 2015
Forum Posts: 43
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hey there. I record my electric guitar into rockband on my mac book, using a cable with a patch chord on one end and USB on the other. I works great.

I had to buy the playstation 3 game "Rock Smith" just for the cord tho... Cool game if you play guitar.

Another thing you can use on an I phone or I pad is called "I Rig" i have that too but would rather use the mac.

would upload picts, but can't figure it out...

Helsinki, Finland
January 31, 2016 - 2:49 am
Member Since: January 30, 2016
Forum Posts: 8
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I also have Yamaha SV-130, and PC and Olympus Pen. Is there software (free or inexpensive) for PC/Win10 that could capture both at the same time; sound directly from the violin and the video from the camera?

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 231

Currently Online:
25 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Members Birthdays
Today None
Upcoming 1stimestar, brewyet, Krootie, PaganinisGhost, damfino

Top Posters:

coolpinkone: 3717

Mad_Wed: 2849

Barry: 2657

Fiddlestix: 2637

Oliver: 2439

DanielB: 2379

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 3492

Moderators: 0

Admins: 2

Forum Stats:

Groups: 16

Forums: 56

Topics: 6406

Posts: 79820

Newest Members:

phanuyenmy161, violin_tide, hfeather11, violin_vampire, timkoop, videoexpert

Administrators: Fiddlerman: 11604, KindaScratchy: 1644