Welcome to our forum. A Message To Our New and Prospective Members . Check out our Forum Rules. Lets keep this forum an enjoyable place to visit.

Check out our 2023 Group Christmas Project HERE

AAA
Please consider registering
sp_LogInOut Log Insp_Registration Register
Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed Topic RSSsp_TopicIcon
15 Inch Cecilio Viola CVA 500
Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 (0 votes) 
niceguye

Members
October 27, 2012 - 12:52 pm
Forum Posts: 2
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hello, my 7 year old son is taking up viola with the DC Youth Orchestra, and is renting an instrument. I decided to get my own to practice with him. I'm new to the viola so I purchase an inexpensive model at the pawn shop so that we can learn together. I purchased a used Cecilio 15 inch viola (CVA500 ) for $125. I'm a guitar player, so I'm not familiar with the fine tuners on a viola. It looks like a less complicated version of a floyd rose. 

Are the tuners of a viola, suppose to be reset by turning the knobs loose and then using your pinky finger to get underneath the tailpiece and pushing forward? I'm trying to figure out if the the fine tuner is defective or not. After loosening, the tuner stays in place as if it was fully tightened. I have to use my finger to push it in place when in loose position.  (hard to explain, if it makes sense) sorry. It seems to work, but not sure if it is supposed to go back in place  or require some wd40 or something.      

Fiddlestix
Michigan, USA

King
Members

Regulars
October 27, 2012 - 1:38 pm
Forum Posts: 2647

Welcome to the forum, niceguye