Welcome to our forum. A Message To Our New and Prospective Members . Check out our Forum Rules. Lets keep this forum an enjoyable place to visit.

Check out our 2023 Group Christmas Project HERE

AAA
Please consider registering
sp_LogInOut Log Insp_Registration Register
Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed Topic RSSsp_TopicIcon
Thoughts on Palatino VA 950
Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 (0 votes) 
JiminTexas

Members
May 8, 2019 - 3:00 pm
Forum Posts: 42
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Is this an instrument that a complete novice can learn on? The upside to it is that I can get it at a very good price. The down side is, of course, that this line of violas and/or instruments in general does not have a very good reputation, judging by what I have heard and read, or is it that I am listening and reading the wrong opinions? 

The search for great technique does not always lead to great music, but the search for great music does always lead to great technique.

Fiddlerman
Fort Lauderdale
May 10, 2019 - 4:54 pm
Forum Posts: 16429

I'm not sure Jim. A complete beginner doesn't need the disadvantage of struggling with an instrument which is more difficult to play and sounds worse than necessary.

"The richest person is not the one who has the most,
but the one who needs the least."

Mouse
May 10, 2019 - 6:08 pm
Forum Posts: 5309

I am confused. Are you talking about violas in general, or a specific viola? I don’t see a specific viola referenced.

The Bumblebee Flies!

Please ignore any typos. My typing ability on a real typewriter did not transfer to these device key pads.

JiminTexas

Members
May 10, 2019 - 7:49 pm

cid said
I am confused. Are you talking about violas in general, or a specific viola? I don’t see a specific viola referenced.